My Friend Fear

Let me introduce you to my friend Fear. We’re super tight, we literally go everywhere and do everything together. She’s an awesome friend; the kind that never leaves your side.

Fear knows what’s best for me, even when I’m not sure myself. She’ll remind me over and over that the best way to stay safe is not to trust anyone but myself, that way I’ll avoid pain and hurt feelings.

Fear is smart too. Her arguments always make mine sound lame. She always knows exactly which life experiences to remind me about so that I don’t make the same mistakes twice.

Fear cares about me. Seriously. People think she has too much influence over me, that she controls my life, but that’s stupid. My life is safer with her in it.

I’ve tried to push her away at times, but she always comes back. She’s reliable like that, and she’ll always be waiting with more life advice when I let her back in.

Sometimes Fear can get a bit tiresome. Like, she literally follows me everywhere. Constantly chattering away at me about risks and danger. It can be a bit overwhelming.

Like this one time, I wanted to go out with a friend, but she wouldn’t let me. As in, she physically stopped me going. Yelled at me until I changed my mind. I was a bit resentful about that, but at the same time I could see all the bad consequences of going out and having friends, so she was right.

I’m never alone because Fear is always there. She makes sure I’m never too comfortable in life, because happiness is for fools.

She’s my constant companion and I’m so used to her now that I’ve forgotten what life was like before I knew her this well. Before we spent all our time together. Before her voice became more familiar to me than my own, and more reliable.

Let me introduce you to my friend Fear. I honestly don’t know what I’d be without her.

3 thoughts on “My Friend Fear

  1. Thing is, Fear tells you she’s looking out for you, keeping you safe, but Fear is actually being selfish. Fear knows that if you find her enemies Happiness or Confidence, you’ll see what a crap friend Fear really is, and leave her behind. Fear has to stay in your face, and tell you how great she is, to protect herself. Good friends want what’s truly best for you, and Fear only wants this if she can stay in the picture.

  2. Thank you so much for your comment, Ella! You’re right; it does help a little to know that there are others out there feeling like I do. It’s comforting.
    (Oh, I changed my blog – I felt the old URL was not adequate.)
    I love this post. Fear is such a constant in my life, and I’m sick of it. It’s selfish, and it makes me seem selfish, because I too shield myself from the world. I’ve been working hard to get rid of it, and I’m sure you are too. It’s not easy, though. But we’ll keep fighting!

Leave a Reply

