Self Abuse

I’ve been really insecure lately. I’ve been saying such horrible things about myself so many times a day, and it’s become a habit, I just insult myself without thinking. I am so quick to assume that I’m a disappointment to others. It’s really wearing on me, and on my husband too because he doesn’t like hearing me degrade myself.

I know I need to break the cycle of negative thought and words. I know I need to challenge the thoughts and the words when they do come. Because it’s really not nice to be constantly verbally abused by myself.

I can do this. One day at a time. Tomorrow is a new day and I will be better at liking myself.

6 thoughts on “Self Abuse

  1. You can get through this. Maybe you could come at this from a different angle. Try to think about three small things from every day which make you feel good. It can be smiling at something your kids have said, noticing the snowdrops or listening to a favourite song. Write them down if you can, because then you’ll find yourself actively looking for the good things. It will help to take you out of your thoughts, even for a moment. And that can help to make you feel a bit better, which in time will help you to feel better about yourself. As you say, it’s one day at a time, and sometimes it’s one moment at a time.

  2. I’ve been there, quite a few times. I was really bad for it before. I decided to try and live by that motto… “if you can’t say anything nice, don’t say anything at all.” For a while…I was really goddamn silent. Then I started to make tiny positive comments about myself, silly things like “I like your shoes/shirt/hair”. That grew.

    I still have a lot of days of insecurities but I’ve gotten better at blocking out that particular voice. It’s no where near gone, but I can ignore it well enough.

    You’ve got this! ❤

    • Thankyou for this advice! I’ll try to be kinder to myself and stay silent otherwise. Hearing that you’ve learned to ignore that voice gives me hope that I’ll one day be able to do the same. Thankyou! 🙂

Leave a Reply

