Boredom

Ever get that feeling where you’re surrounded by things to do, but you’re still bored out of your skull? Yeah. That’s how I’m feeling right now. And it sucks. There’s a lot of housework that needs doing, but I can’t be bothered. I put a washing load on because I had to, but that’s all I’m doing. There are also lots of recreational things I could do, which is far more interesting than housework, but I can’t find the motivation in me to do anything. It sounds so lazy. It probably is. But I’m just so bored. It’s a miracle I’m writing this to be honest.

My husband is at work, and the kids are in bed, and now I’m alone. It’s weird because I love putting the children to bed, it’s such a relief to finally be able to relax. But now that I’ve got this empty evening stretching out before me I have no idea what to do with it.

I feel like I must be an incredibly ungrateful person. I have books I could read, I could listen to music, I could play the piano, I could watch something, I could do a crossword or a sudoku puzzle, I could call my sister for a chat, I could write something…but I’m just not feeling any of it. And I’m sitting here complaining about boredom when I have so much around me I should be grateful for. So I’m sorry if I sound a bit whiny.

Right, well this post isn’t really going anywhere, but it’s served its purpose and I’ve achieved at least one thing tonight which is better than nothing.

Adios.

Leave a Reply

