Mish-mash

I’m finding it so hard to blog at the moment. I don’t know why it’s suddenly so difficult, but I really dislike it. Blogging is helpful and therapeutic for me, as well as boosting my self esteem because I feel I’ve achieved something. So why does it take gargantuan effort to get myself to do it nowadays? It’s so aggravating.

My marriage is still a little on the rocks, but I do feel confident still that we’ll overcome our issues. I’m making progress in other areas of my life too- I’ve gone out without my husband a few times, which is huge for me. I feel proud that I’ve been able to do it. And even though I know I’m nowhere near better, it’s comforting to see progress somewhere. At least there’s some sign I’m getting somewhere, albeit slowly.

My GP referred me for some perinatal psychiatric therapy, but as my son is now over a year old they felt their service wouldn’t be suitable for me. So they referred me through to my local Let’s Talk: Wellbeing service, who booked me in for a telephone consultation, which took place last week. I’ve now heard back from them that they don’t feel suitable for my needs either (they only offer 6 sessions of talking therapy, whereas they feel I need something more long-term), so they’ve referred me to a ‘secondary care’ provider, where hopefully I can finally get seen and get some therapy. I’m hoping for some form of counselling, as I’ve had it before and saw clear benefits from it in my life. I’ve tried CBT in the past too, but I don’t feel it’s for me, at least not now anyway.

So basically my life is still a mish-mash  of highs and lows, but I’m hopeful that things will improve someday.

2 thoughts on “Mish-mash

  1. It really sounds like things are moving forward with your marriage – what a relief. After all the doubt, this must be so reassuring. I hope it continues.

    Do you have any idea how long you have to wait for this secondary care provider? It sucks that you’ve been referred from service to service like this. I’m with you on not being too keen on CBT – maybe something more integrative would do the trick. I guess you’ll see what you get!

    • Thankyou. No I have no idea how long it’ll be, it’s just frustrating being passed from one person to another, but on the bright side I suppose the referrals haven’t taken too long, so hopefully this one won’t take long either. I’m just desperate for something!! X

Leave a Reply

