What Do You Do When You Both Suffer With Anxiety?

Today is not a good day. I’m feeling very panicky and stressed and scared. Last night was stressful because my husband and I had a disagreement which resulted in him having a panic attack but I was being frozen in place by my own panic so I was unable to help him. Eventually I managed to take control and push my panic down so I could help him calm down. Part of me is proud I managed to do that, but other parts of me are preoccupied with the terror of it going on like this. I can’t keep on putting a lid on my anxiety to help him with his. Or maybe I can, I don’t know. Maybe the fact that I was able to do that shows I’m gaining some control over it? Or maybe not. Maybe it was a one time thing and next time I’ll just lose it. I feel like I’m being selfish for thinking this way. He can’t help his anxiety any more than I can. It’s unreasonable to expect otherwise. Ugh. I don’t know what to do. A husband and a wife who both suffer with anxiety. Ha. It would be funny if it wasn’t so painful.

Leave a Reply

