Playing in the Rain

Not too long ago it started raining really heavily. My 3 year old daughter and I were upstairs in my bedroom and the window was open. She loves the rain, so we were both leaning up against the windowsill watching it. Then she asked if she could go out in the rain. Normally I’d dismiss the idea and not think twice but this time I thought, “why not? My baby is asleep, it wouldn’t be for long, and it would make her really happy.”

Seized by a sudden desire to be reckless, I told her we could. We both quickly and quietly got dressed, ran downstairs, and put our shoes on. I opened the back door and we both went out into the deluge.

It was exhilarating. It wasn’t very cold, and we both stood there getting soaked and feeling the rain on our skin. I span around a few times and she copied me. It was one of the best things ever. I loved sharing it with my daughter.

Sometimes it’s good to embrace spontaneity. So what if I’m a mother and a wife? Does that mean I can’t let my hair down and play out in torrential rain when I feel like it? It felt so good to have fun. It felt so good to close my eyes and tilt my head up to the sky and feel the raindrops splashing onto my face. For a few minutes I was free of anxiety and depression and living in the moment. For a few minutes I was just one drop in the rainstorm. For a few minutes I was a 21 year old girl letting impulse rule the moment, smiling and laughing like I was the 3 year old, letting the rain wash the world away.

It was beautiful.

3 thoughts on “Playing in the Rain

Leave a Reply

