The Best Part of My Day

The best part of my day? When my husband gets home from work. I feel like everything works up to that moment, to when I can relax again and let my guard down.

When my husband is home, I don’t have to pretend I’m okay. I don’t have to be strong. I can cry if I want to. He understands me like no one else does and I’m so grateful for him. He makes me smile and he makes me laugh, he sees beauty in me that I don’t see in myself. He’s the best man I know, and I guess this post is kind of a tribute to him.

I know I can’t be easy to live with. Anxiety and depression make me quite high maintenance at times I’m sure. But he doesn’t complain. He loves me, even when I don’t feel at all lovable. He sticks by me, even when to me it makes no sense for him to do so. He is my best friend and confidant and I love him.

He struggles with a bit of anxiety too, and it can be difficult because there are times when we’re both feeling panicked and we feel unable to help each other. These times are the worst. Sometimes we say unkind things we don’t mean. Sometimes we lose patience with each other. But the wonderful thing is that these times pass, and when they do we both apologise and put it behind us.

It’s extremely unfortunate that we both suffer with anxiety. It’s almost funny, except that it’s really not. But one bright side is that it lends us each a perspective that enables us to empathise with each other to a degree. And for me it reminds me that no matter how rubbish I feel, I am not unworthy of love. No one is.

Leave a Reply

